Modern Woman

October 3, 2012 § 17 Comments

Fall marks the return of some of my favorite TV shows.  Modern Family, among a handful of others, is one of my favorites.  Sofia Vergara plays a housewife on the FOX hit series and she’s incredibly funny.  I was excited to read some highlights from her latest interview with Lucky where she’s the cover story for the November issue (on newsstands Oct 9). 

On what she thinks of her famously bodacious body: “I know [my breasts] have opened doors for me, let’s be real. But I so hate when I see Gisele and she is wearing a tiny little tank top with no bra, like, ‘Oh, I just threw this on, I look so cute.’ If I wore that I would look like I was pregnant, or a fat stripper.”

On her ‘Modern Family’ role as Gloria: “I know that Gloria is the role of a lifetime,” Vergara says. “It is very natural for me to play her.”

On her secret to success: “I think you can’t care too much, or you will get nowhere. You take a woman who is the same as me, the same body, the same face, the same whatever, and we could go to the same audition, and I would get it and she wouldn’t because I was like, if they want me, they want me and if they don’t, well, that’s okay. But of course you also have to move your ass.” 

On the inspiration for her clothing line for Kmart: “I met all these women there who saw all the fun, colorful, comfortable stuff I was wearing and said, “Where did you get that, it is so cute.” Vergara says. “And I knew I had access to the designers and I wanted to give the woman who is saving her grocery money for a cute outfit something good that she can afford.” 

On why she became an actress: “Truthfully,” Vergara says, “I always thought of acting as a way to get a clothing line, and as an experiment.”

Photo by Ben Watts for Lucky magazine

Fashion Credits: Magascgini, Dolce & Gabbana, Marc Jacobs, Jimmy Choo

For more: http://www.luckymag.com/magazine/2012/11/sofia-vergara#slide=1

Tagged: ,

§ 17 Responses to Modern Woman

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Modern Woman at beckspick.

meta

